Smeggy's Forums

Forums where you CAN vent!

Skip to content

The Apple Thread

Talk about your box!! yes... PC's, Mac's and TV's --We can get along!!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

^ Not quite in those lengths. :D

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Just received new cable,I have ordered 6ft one.

:maddy: Image


Image

User avatar
Forum Slapper Lush
Posts: 33247
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 9:53 pm
Location: East London with Just Dave now.
How Hot Are You?: Centre Of The Sun
Current Mood: Eff it.

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

I think the answer is no but is there any way an iPad 6 be used to 'tether' a PC without a wireless card to the home router ?
I have a tower in the garden shed and would like to check it without bringing it indoors since it is full of spiders.

The Apple blurb mentions 'personal hotspots and cellular' but there is nothing within the menu of the touch, even with Bluetooth on

The best facial is a daily facial.

User avatar
Complete Nutter!!
Posts: 16626
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:40 pm
How Hot Are You?: Siberia
Current Mood: unknown

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Tethering will need a SIM card with a data allowance that allows tethering. If those conditions are met then you set up a Personal Hotspot which your PC can 'see' - BUT...it will need WiFi or Bluetooth in the PC. The PC would then use the data connection on the SIM card of the iPad/iPhone.

I've recently gone through this as I wanted my car to use my iPhone's data connection.

It won't solve your problem anyway - the Hotspot range will probably be too low.

You really only have a couple of options: long Ethernet cable or a WiFi card in the PC.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Thanks, it will be the long Ethernet cable since the iPod 6 has no SIM card slot.

I had hoped that with the ability for the touch to have access to the router through wifi, this might be transferable via the cable to the USB port of the PC, similar to those newer storage sticks with wifi capability.

Thanks for checking though

The best facial is a daily facial.

User avatar
Complete Nutter!!
Posts: 16626
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:40 pm
How Hot Are You?: Siberia
Current Mood: unknown

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

If apple chargers are shit and go to pieces it doesnt fill me with confidence for the hardware. My daughters have both had ipods and the chargers ended up like dolls. Ive got sony chargers that are 7 years old and work perfectly. Gotta say my android lg has fucked up lately and wont connect to any wifi, even without security, despite a factory reset.

Slaves to tech :shrug:



Sit on my Facebook!
Posts: 11150
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:01 pm

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Stanley Tweedle wrote:If apple chargers are shit and go to pieces it doesnt fill me with confidence for the hardware. My daughters have both had ipods and the chargers ended up like dolls. Ive got sony chargers that are 7 years old and work perfectly. Gotta say my android lg has fucked up lately and wont connect to any wifi, even without security, despite a factory reset.

Slaves to tech :shrug:


We are indeed. Couldn't live without it now

-----|0| None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. |0|-----

"Capitalism profits from War - Humanity profits from Peace."

User avatar
Aliens Ate My Chicken!
Posts: 111097
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Smegland
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: Won Tons Mons

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Crumbs you orifice oracle of all things anal.Apple,

The office iPad has come up with the welcome / hello screen and is asking for the original apple id for when I first registered it online for no reason.

It was fine yesterday and I havent prompted it to do this, nor carried out any reset/update since a month or two ago. Firmware is latest for the iPas 2 at 9.35 or thereabouts.

Why ?

The best facial is a daily facial.

User avatar
Complete Nutter!!
Posts: 16626
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:40 pm
How Hot Are You?: Siberia
Current Mood: unknown

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Have you bought anything from the App Store or iTunes recently? It may have undergone an update and now is trying to update downloaded apps.

Are you able to use the iPad or is it stuck after what looks like a hard reset?

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

I haven't bought anything online with Apple, the iPad 2 is no longer supported which is why the 9.3.5 is the last update which occurred late last year from memory.

I didn't want to enter the account details prompted by the iPad 2 just in case it had been compromised before asking around and surfing todays news for any breach of Apple security. I have found that since returning home from nightshift the iPod 6 Touch is working without fault, and the two devices are tied to the same account.

If you think it's OK to enter the detail into the following page from the welcome detail I will do so in an hour or so since it does recognise the home wifi and locks onto it by default.

The best facial is a daily facial.

User avatar
Complete Nutter!!
Posts: 16626
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:40 pm
How Hot Are You?: Siberia
Current Mood: unknown

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

I can't see any harm in entering your Apple ID. It's asking for it on that particular iPad which is in your possession. Did your iPod flag up that the iPad needed an Apple ID entering?

Apple always send you an email if anyone has logged in using your Apple ID on any device.

So, things to check:

1. Check your email (the one used for your Apple ID) - see if you have any notifications from Apple

2. Go here and sign in with your Apple ID on a computer: https://appleid.apple.com/#!&page=signin

3. The login should be fine and Apple will send you an email to notify you of that login

4. Check all your settings and enable two-factor authentication. This adds one more layer of security to your Apple ID if you have more than one Apple device that shares the same Apple ID. As you have two devices that share the same Apple ID, two-factor authentication will notify you on one of your other devices whenever the other device needs an Apple ID entered. You'll get a 6-digit code generated on one of your other devices which you will need to enter in addition to your Apple ID password. I highly recommend setting this up, but make sure you understand how it works first! You'll always need another Apple device nearby if you need to enter your Apple ID password on your current device.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

iOS 10.3.2 has just been released by Apple. No UI or app changes but a ton of security and performance improvements. Well worth getting if you have an iPod/iPad/iPhone.

Just upgraded all of our iOS devices and it's a fair old update, taking 15-20 minutes.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

crumbs wrote:iOS 10.3.2 has just been released by Apple. No UI or app changes but a ton of security and performance improvements. Well worth getting if you have an iPod/iPad/iPhone.

Just upgraded all of our iOS devices and it's a fair old update, taking 15-20 minutes.


Contains inbuilt ransomware :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

-----|0| None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. |0|-----

"Capitalism profits from War - Humanity profits from Peace."

User avatar
Aliens Ate My Chicken!
Posts: 111097
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Smegland
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: Won Tons Mons

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

It's not Windoze shite. :D

In the years that I've been running iOS and MacOS, I've not had a single malware incident. And neither has anyone I know personally. Windoze on the other hand... :D

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

crumbs wrote:It's not Windoze shite. :D

In the years that I've been running iOS and MacOS, I've not had a single malware incident. And neither has anyone I know personally. Windoze on the other hand... :D


I can count on one hand the times I've had a malware incident with Windows over the last 20 years

-----|0| None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. |0|-----

"Capitalism profits from War - Humanity profits from Peace."

User avatar
Aliens Ate My Chicken!
Posts: 111097
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Smegland
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: Won Tons Mons

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

But you know full well that Windows suffers a lot more from malware. Virtually all of the malware that exists right now is targeting Windows machines. It's because Windows is a more 'leaky' OS that is easier to hack. And it spies on you to a much greater extent than Apple operating systems.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

macOS Sierra version 10.12.5 was also released yesterday, providing a number of bug fixes and performance improvements for the world's best desktop environment.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Crumbs my iPad display seems to have a yellow tinge.Tried brightness but still looks abit dreary. :confused: Any idea?

:maddy: Image


Image

User avatar
Forum Slapper Lush
Posts: 33247
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 9:53 pm
Location: East London with Just Dave now.
How Hot Are You?: Centre Of The Sun
Current Mood: Eff it.

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

Ahhh fixed it,somehow or other setting was on nighshift.. :doh:

:maddy: Image


Image

User avatar
Forum Slapper Lush
Posts: 33247
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 9:53 pm
Location: East London with Just Dave now.
How Hot Are You?: Centre Of The Sun
Current Mood: Eff it.

Top Forum Index Page New Posts

Posted on

      

You can set the nightshift hours to automatically be sunset to sunrise. It will then create a more soothing display during the hours of darkness so it'll be easier on your eyes.

I will never be owned.

User avatar
Gusset-Sniffer
Posts: 16755
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:50 am
How Hot Are You?: The Big Bang!!
Current Mood: My cock is huuuuuuuge!

PreviousNext

Share this Topic on Facebook:

Return to Computers and Software

Similar topics

  • Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
    Top of Page

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests